top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackie

Processing

Processing Day was exhausting but very exhilarating to say the least. Laura, had a neighbor, a friend and myself to help and we processed 58 birds in about 8 hours. Laura was blessed to be able to buy her neighbors scalded and plucker, as they stopped raising chickens. It was a long day, and I did put myself to task and learn and participate in each step of the process. I had to kill a few chickens to make sure I was actually able to do it in the future. I did, however spend the majority of my time with Laura's neighbor Debi in learning how to eviscerate and dress the birds. Once we had processed all the chickens, we left them on ice in coolers for 2 days, and then came back to the farm to bag and tag them all. The pictures tell the story ...


















And a day is never complete without some puppy love - as Abby wanted nothing to do with the whole chicken processing process.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Home

bottom of page